Jason Chimera blind-sided by Tyson Strachan
That could change on Friday when NHL director of player safety Brendan Shanahan is expected to review Strachan’s blindside hit on Jason Chimera 8:57 into the second period of the Capitals’ 7-1 rout of the Panthers.
“The replay didn’t look overly good,” Capitals forward Troy Brouwer said.
The replay shows that Chimera had released the puck and was looking in another direction when Strachan drove his left arm into his head.
“I think it was a little late, I do,” Capitals coach Adam Oates said. “I’m glad Chimmer’s OK.”
Chimera went to the locker room under his own power and returned to play nine shifts after the hit.
“Smitty [athletic trainer Greg Smith] went and checked on him to make sure with the new [concussion] rules, he’s OK. He came back, said he felt OK. I was glad to hear it.”
Strachan received a 5-minute major for interference and a game misconduct for the hit, but Panthers coach Kevin Dineen would not speculate on whether he thought it was reviewable.
“That’s going to be handled on a different level,” Dineen told reporters after the game. “I have a strong amount of respect for the league when they make decisions, and we’ll see how things play out.”
The Panthers play again on Friday, so any decision by the NHL must be made on Friday.
Chimera was not available after the game but his teammates were relieved to see him return to the game.
“I saw him between periods and he seemed OK, so I don’t really know what was hurt on him,” Karl Alzner said, “whether it was his head or somewhere on his body. But I’m happy I saw him [back on the ice].”