CAA Scheduling 101 - William & Mary

CAA Scheduling 101 - William & Mary
October 5, 2012, 7:22 pm

Improving on last season's total of six wins - four in CAA play - figures to be the most basic of goals for William & Mary men's basketball team. Even without leading scorer Quinn McDowell, lost to graduation, the Tribe appear poised for that and then some especially if rising sophomore Marcus Thornton builds on the promise flashed during his freshman campaign.

The explosive 6-foot-4 guard and former Bishop McNamara star averaged 11.1 points per game last season primarily in a reserve role. Thornton now joins a lineup with three returning starters and is part of a W&M roster that includes nine players with at least 16 games of experience from last season.

Pinpointing the foes that stand out as easy targets is another matter. The early part of the upcoming schedule includes road games against major conference programs like Wake Forest, Vanderbilt and Purdue. The Tribe's most intriguing out of conference home date is against Miami (Oh.) out of the always formidable Mid-American conference while the only meeting against CAA favorite takes place at Kaplan Arena.

The rest of the schedule looks like this ( denotes CAA games)

Fri, Nov 09 Hampton
Mon, Nov 12 Liberty
Sat, Nov 17 at High Point
Wed, Nov 21 Miami OH
Fri, Nov 23 at Wake Forest
Wed, Nov 28 at Richmond
Sat, Dec 01 Old Dominion
Thu, Dec 06 Howard
Sat, Dec 08 at Radford
Sat, Dec 29 at Purdue
Wed, Jan 02 at Vanderbilt
Sat, Jan 05 George Mason
Wed, Jan 09 at Towson
Sat, Jan 12 Hofstra
Wed, Jan 16 at Georgia State
Sat, Jan 19 Drexel
Wed, Jan 23 Northeastern
Sat, Jan 26 Towson
Wed, Jan 30 Delaware
Sat, Feb 02 Hofstra
Wed, Feb 06 at James Madison
Mon, Feb 11 at Northeastern
Wed, Feb 13 UNC Wilmington
Sat, Feb 16 at Old Dominion
Mon, Feb 18 Georgia State
Sat, Feb 23 George Mason
Wed, Feb 27 at UNC Wilmington
Sat, Mar 02 James Madison